Page 1 of 2

Menu background transparency - how to add?

Posted: Sat Mar 02, 2019 6:11 pm
by Crw
Many extension don't have option transparency (example - Full Screen Menu, Filter Menu...). It's imposes a restriction in the application. Question - how to add transparency background in this situations (or in Full Screen Menu, Filter Menu extension)?
Thanks.

Re: Menu background transparency - how to add?

Posted: Sat Mar 02, 2019 6:48 pm
by Pablo
These extensions are not part of the application, they are separate add-ons.
So, it not a restriction of the application, but a limitation of the extension.
Maybe I will add this functionality to the extensions in the future, but unfortunately not many users buy my extensions so I am not sure if anyone finds them useful anyway.

Re: Menu background transparency - how to add?

Posted: Sun Mar 03, 2019 12:31 am
by MGD4me
I'm not quite sure if you mean "how to add a background image, which is transparent" so that other text, blocks, or images can be seen "in front" of the background more clearly.

If that is the case, I use a photo editor to manipulate the background image, to "wash it out". Lower the contrast, hue, and brightmess, so that the final background is a faint version of the original. Then, other objects placed on top will stand out.

Re: Menu background transparency - how to add?

Posted: Wed Apr 10, 2019 2:11 pm
by Antwonk
I am adding a post here as it is related to my concern - I want to make the menu bar transparent so that it just shows the text. I will have a white background but even white buttons have some kind of colour to them so I want either pure white buttons with no border or transparent buttons with no border. Am I missing something? Thanks

Re: Menu background transparency - how to add?

Posted: Wed Apr 10, 2019 2:28 pm
by Pablo
Which menu are you referring to?

Re: Menu background transparency - how to add?

Posted: Wed Apr 10, 2019 2:41 pm
by alan_sh
Pablo wrote:
Sat Mar 02, 2019 6:48 pm
These extensions are not part of the application, they are separate add-ons.
So, it not a restriction of the application, but a limitation of the extension.
Maybe I will add this functionality to the extensions in the future, but unfortunately not many users buy my extensions so I am not sure if anyone finds them useful anyway.
I just bought a navigator pack - you can afford another beer now :D :D

Re: Menu background transparency - how to add?

Posted: Wed Apr 10, 2019 2:49 pm
by Pablo
I just bought a navigator pack - you can afford another beer now
Thanks!

Re: Menu background transparency - how to add?

Posted: Tue Apr 16, 2019 4:46 pm
by Antwonk
I am talking about the menu bar at the top of the page. The style is buttons but I just want it to be transparent (with nothing around the edge or any colour shading as even white has different tones). I just want a white menu button that blends in with the white background or transparent so the only thing users see is the black text. I would attach an image but it needs a URL and I do not have my site online yet. Also, where do I buy one if that includes transparent buttons etc ... Thanks!

Re: Menu background transparency - how to add?

Posted: Tue Apr 16, 2019 4:58 pm
by Antwonk
Hi again, I managed to post the image of my menu on a FB image that is open to the world so please take a look:
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid ... =3&theater
Image

Re: Menu background transparency - how to add?

Posted: Tue Apr 16, 2019 5:05 pm
by Antwonk
I also managed to use a different button style that looks good but I would prefer it had no line around the edges:
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid ... =3&theater (public)

Re: Menu background transparency - how to add?

Posted: Tue Apr 16, 2019 5:16 pm
by Pablo
Note that it's confusion if you hi-jack someone else topic because it seems unrelated.
Are you asking for a menu that is similar to the one in your screenshot?
or are you looking for a text menu only?

Maybe you can a menu you like in this overview?
http://wysiwygwebbuilder.com/navigation.html

Re: Menu background transparency - how to add?

Posted: Tue Apr 16, 2019 5:24 pm
by Antwonk
Thank you. It seems there is some confusion on my part about navigation bar and menu bar. I thought I was asking the same question as the original poster. My aim is to have a button that is invisible so only the text shows. But then I see you discuss a text only menu in the link you sent but I am not sure how I add a text menu in the navigation?

Re: Menu background transparency - how to add?

Posted: Tue Apr 16, 2019 5:54 pm
by Pablo
The 'Text Menu' is a menu without images/borders.
To add it to your website, just drag & drop it to the page. This works the same as the navigation bar.

Re: Menu background transparency - how to add?

Posted: Tue Apr 16, 2019 6:29 pm
by Antwonk
Thank you - that is excellent. I just tried and see how easy it is with just text. Now I need to decide if I like the buttons I used or will just use text. Cheers!

Re: Menu background transparency - how to add?

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:20 pm
by Antwonk
Hello again, I hope this is my last question. I managed to create a text menu and choose my font. The only issue I have is that the text is blue and underlined like a hyperlink. I have tried to go into properties and change it but no joy. Is the blue text with an underline the only option available?