Code at the top of my page?

Issues related to previewing and publishing your web site.
Post Reply
Public Frenemy
 
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2017 2:55 pm

Code at the top of my page?

Post by Public Frenemy » Mon Sep 18, 2017 3:42 pm

I am painfully trying to resolve this issue. I'm working on a simple, single page "coming soon" page for a friend. It has a couple of links and a php email subscribe area. The url www.modestbravura.com/index.php is what it's supposed to look like but when you just type in www.modestbravura.com it has weird code at the top of the page and the formatting is slightly off at the bottom. Can someone PLEASE point me in the right direction to fix this?

User avatar
BaconFries
 
 
Posts: 4490
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:32 pm

Re: Code at the top of my page?

Post by BaconFries » Mon Sep 18, 2017 3:57 pm

The weird code you are seeing is php. This is because you have two index files on the server 1x index.php and 1x index.html remove the latter to resolve.

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 19653
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Code at the top of my page?

Post by Pablo » Mon Sep 18, 2017 3:57 pm

You have two index pages on the server:
http://www.modestbravura.com/index.html
http://www.modestbravura.com/index.php

You will need to remove index.html

Public Frenemy
 
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2017 2:55 pm

Re: Code at the top of my page?

Post by Public Frenemy » Mon Sep 18, 2017 4:07 pm

First of all, thank you guys for replying. Second, I'm dumb and kind of new to this so please forgive me. How can I remove the index.html. Will I have to do that within the server files in GoDaddy?

User avatar
BaconFries
 
 
Posts: 4490
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:32 pm

Re: Code at the top of my page?

Post by BaconFries » Mon Sep 18, 2017 5:02 pm

How can I remove the index.html. Will I have to do that within the server files in GoDaddy?
Yes

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 19653
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Code at the top of my page?

Post by Pablo » Mon Sep 18, 2017 5:12 pm

Or you can use the built-in 'Explore' option in the publish window.

Public Frenemy
 
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2017 2:55 pm

Re: Code at the top of my page?

Post by Public Frenemy » Mon Sep 18, 2017 6:23 pm

Ok. I'll try it when I get home from work tonight. Thank you all so much.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests