Combobox Condition

Issues related to forms.
WWBman
 
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 6:10 pm

Re: Combobox Condition

Post by WWBman » Fri Oct 12, 2018 9:35 pm

Correct, disabling will be the same as if the editboxes weren't there in the first place, so won't be included in the email or autoresponder.
Make sure you account for every case.
E.g. if the user fills in 4, then changes their mind and clicks 2, you have to disable 3 and 4.
Then of course if the user clicks 4 again you will have to enable 3 and 4. You see what I mean.
Etc, etc.

DOH!, I've just realised it's in Australia? By using Postcode I assumed it was in the UK so used the UK format.

petejos
 
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:43 am

Re: Combobox Condition

Post by petejos » Fri Oct 12, 2018 10:51 pm

WWBman wrote:
Fri Oct 12, 2018 9:35 pm
Correct, disabling will be the same as if the editboxes weren't there in the first place, so won't be included in the email or autoresponder.
Make sure you account for every case.
E.g. if the user fills in 4, then changes their mind and clicks 2, you have to disable 3 and 4.
Then of course if the user clicks 4 again you will have to enable 3 and 4. You see what I mean.
Etc, etc.

DOH!, I've just realised it's in Australia? By using Postcode I assumed it was in the UK so used the UK format.
Thanks wwbman. When disabling will the title of the fields still be there like the following? My main aim if the user only select 1, the non of the other details like below should display in their email at all. I am using HTML format in my autoresponder. Thanks wwbman

Name 2:
DOB 2: DD - MM - YYYY
Age 2:
Age Group 2: Select Camper 2 Age Group
Fees 2:
Allergies and Medical Conditions 2:

WWBman
 
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 6:10 pm

Re: Combobox Condition

Post by WWBman » Fri Oct 12, 2018 10:56 pm

That’s right. None of the details will show.
If you want to try it just download my test project.

petejos
 
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:43 am

Re: Combobox Condition

Post by petejos » Fri Oct 12, 2018 11:36 pm

WWBman wrote:
Fri Oct 12, 2018 10:56 pm
That’s right. None of the details will show.
If you want to try it just download my test project.
Thanks wwbman.
You mean even the title like below all will not show as well in the email they received? What is the link to your test project?

Name 2
DOB2
Age 2

WWBman
 
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 6:10 pm

Re: Combobox Condition

Post by WWBman » Sat Oct 13, 2018 8:02 am

The titles will only show for the campers that are filled in.

The link is the same as before: http://www.mediafire.com/file/as7v9n29p ... s.wbs/file

petejos
 
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:43 am

Re: Combobox Condition

Post by petejos » Sat Oct 13, 2018 10:08 am

WWBman wrote:
Sat Oct 13, 2018 8:02 am
The titles will only show for the campers that are filled in.

The link is the same as before: http://www.mediafire.com/file/as7v9n29p ... s.wbs/file
I inserted the function you mentioned as below for Camper2Name
function clearbox2()
{
document.getElementById('Fee2').value = "";
document.getElementById('Camper2Group').value = "";
document.getElementById('Camper2Age').value = "";
document.getElementById('Camper2conditions').value = "";
document.getElementById('Camper2Name').disabled = true;
Camper2Group.selectedIndex = 0;
Camper2DOBYear.selectedIndex = 0;
Camper2DOBMonth.selectedIndex = 0;
Camper2DOBDate.selectedIndex = 0;
}

The result i got in the email is as below. Any idea what have I done wrong>:(

Name 2: $Camper2Name
DOB 2: DD - MM - YYYY
Age 2:
Age Group 2: Select Camper 2 Age Group

WWBman
 
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 6:10 pm

Re: Combobox Condition

Post by WWBman » Sat Oct 13, 2018 10:26 am

You'll need to disable all elements in the group.
Have you looked at my test project?
I have tested it and it works.

BTW, you don't need the selectedIndex = 0; option, that was for a Combobox.

petejos
 
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:43 am

Re: Combobox Condition

Post by petejos » Sun Oct 14, 2018 12:36 am

WWBman wrote:
Sat Oct 13, 2018 10:26 am
You'll need to disable all elements in the group.
Have you looked at my test project?
I have tested it and it works.

BTW, you don't need the selectedIndex = 0; option, that was for a Combobox.
Thanks Wwbman.

The following is what the message I have in my autoresponder. I have 10 campers details in this message. As you can see I have say 2 campers details below as an example. If you register only for 1 camper, you will still receive all the following format, but only with camper 1 details. What I want to achieve is if the user only register for 1 camper, then the camper 2 should not be included in the autoresponder message. I looked through your test project and it doesn't seems like what I am looking for. Hope you understand what I wanted to achieve and you may possibly have the solution for me? Thanks again WWBman

Hi $ContactName.

Thank you for registering the 2019 English Church Family Camp

Your reference number is: $reference

You have submitted below information:

Total Number of Campers in this registration you have submitted is: $HowManyCampers

Camper Details
Name 1: $Camper1Name
DOB 1: $Camper1DOBDate - $Camper1DOBMonth - $Camper1DOBYear
Age 1: $Camper1Age
Age Group 1: $Camper1Group
Fees 1: $Fee1
Allergies and Medical Conditions 1: $Camper1conditions


Name 2: $Camper2Name
DOB 2: $Camper2DOBDate - $Camper2DOBMonth - $Camper2DOBYear
Age 2: $Camper2Age
Age Group 2: $Camper2Group
Fees 2: $Fee2
Allergies and Medical Conditions 2: $Camper2conditions

WWBman
 
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 6:10 pm

Re: Combobox Condition

Post by WWBman » Sun Oct 14, 2018 7:40 am

I know exactly what you want, my test project does that.
Have you downloaded the project?
You can just preview it and you'll see that e.g. if you select just one item then the details for just that one item will be sent, nothing else.
The details sent include the titles + entered data.

Please compare the events and javascript with what you have, especially the clear..() routines.

petejos
 
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:43 am

Re: Combobox Condition

Post by petejos » Sun Oct 14, 2018 8:00 am

WWBman wrote:
Sun Oct 14, 2018 7:40 am
I know exactly what you want, my test project does that.
Have you downloaded the project?
You can just preview it and you'll see that e.g. if you select just one item then the details for just that one item will be sent, nothing else.
The details sent include the titles + entered data.

Please compare the events and javascript with what you have, especially the clear..() routines.
Thanks WWBMan. Just want to clarify. I don't want anything at all that are not selected by the user to appear in the email. For example. If the user select only 1, i don't want any of the following info related to the 2 to appear in the email at all. Because I am using HTML as email format, I just can't find a way not to have the following information sent to the user even though they only selected 1.

Name 2:
DOB 2:
Age 2:
Age Group 2: Select Camper 2 Age Group
Fees 2:
Allergies and Medical Conditions 2:

As mentioned early, presently I configure my autoresponder as
Reference number: $reference

Number of Campers: $HowManyCampers

Camper Details
Name 1: $Camper1Name
DOB 1: $Camper1DOBDate - $Camper1DOBMonth - $Camper1DOBYear
Age 1: $Camper1Age
Age Group 1: $Camper1Group
Fees 1: $Fee1
Allergies and Medical Conditions 1: $Camper1conditions


Name 2: $Camper2Name
DOB 2: $Camper2DOBDate - $Camper2DOBMonth - $Camper2DOBYear
Age 2: $Camper2Age
Age Group 2: $Camper2Group
Fees 2: $Fee2
Allergies and Medical Conditions 2: $Camper2conditions

petejos
 
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:43 am

Re: Combobox Condition

Post by petejos » Sun Oct 14, 2018 8:05 am

petejos wrote:
Sun Oct 14, 2018 8:00 am
WWBman wrote:
Sun Oct 14, 2018 7:40 am
I know exactly what you want, my test project does that.
Have you downloaded the project?
You can just preview it and you'll see that e.g. if you select just one item then the details for just that one item will be sent, nothing else.
The details sent include the titles + entered data.

Please compare the events and javascript with what you have, especially the clear..() routines.
Thanks WWBMan. Just want to clarify. I don't want anything at all that are not selected by the user to appear in the email. For example. If the user select only 1, i don't want any of the following info related to the 2 to appear in the email at all. Because I am using HTML as email format, I just can't find a way not to have the following information sent to the user even though they only selected 1.

Name 2:
DOB 2:
Age 2:
Age Group 2: Select Camper 2 Age Group
Fees 2:
Allergies and Medical Conditions 2:

As mentioned early, presently I configure my autoresponder as
Reference number: $reference

Number of Campers: $HowManyCampers

Camper Details
Name 1: $Camper1Name
DOB 1: $Camper1DOBDate - $Camper1DOBMonth - $Camper1DOBYear
Age 1: $Camper1Age
Age Group 1: $Camper1Group
Fees 1: $Fee1
Allergies and Medical Conditions 1: $Camper1conditions


Name 2: $Camper2Name
DOB 2: $Camper2DOBDate - $Camper2DOBMonth - $Camper2DOBYear
Age 2: $Camper2Age
Age Group 2: $Camper2Group
Fees 2: $Fee2
Allergies and Medical Conditions 2: $Camper2conditions
I just don't want the title unrelated to the user selection to appear at all.

WWBman
 
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 6:10 pm

Re: Combobox Condition

Post by WWBman » Sun Oct 14, 2018 8:22 am

I just don't want the title unrelated to the user selection to appear at all.
And that is what the test project does.
Please test it.

petejos
 
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:43 am

Re: Combobox Condition

Post by petejos » Sun Oct 14, 2018 9:33 am

WWBman wrote:
Sun Oct 14, 2018 8:22 am
I just don't want the title unrelated to the user selection to appear at all.
And that is what the test project does.
Please test it.
Thanks WWBman. I tested and it doesn't work the way I wanted. check out below

http://www.goec.com.au/goec2/page4.php

WWBman
 
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 6:10 pm

Re: Combobox Condition

Post by WWBman » Sun Oct 14, 2018 10:51 am

You haven't redownloaded the project.
That one is a very old version.

petejos
 
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:43 am

Re: Combobox Condition

Post by petejos » Sun Oct 14, 2018 11:20 am

WWBman wrote:
Sun Oct 14, 2018 10:51 am
You haven't redownloaded the project.
That one is a very old version.
Thanks WWBman. I downloaded a new one and noticed the different in the script. However, I tested and it still doesn't work. Please have a look.

http://www.goec.com.au/goec2/page4.php

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests