Change your password tool

Issues related to the Login tools of WYSIWYG Web Builder.
Forum rules
PLEASE READ THE FORUM RULES BEFORE YOU POST:
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=1901

MUST READ:
http://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/login_basics.html
http://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/login_tools.html

TIP:
A lot of information about the login tools can be found in the help/manual.
Also checkout the demo template that is include with the software.
User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 18671
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Change your password tool

Post by Pablo » Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:03 am

There is only the change password tool that does not accept my database when I want to edit it.
If you are not an advised user then I strongly recommend to put all pages in the same folder and use the same settings (= same database) for all pages.
At least until you have everything wrong.
Do I have to create a file with the same name as my database in the folder where I want to put the tool change password?
No, there should only be one database.
I don't know where to look for it. Please, understand that I don't know anything about programming
Menu -> Page -> Page HTML.

kether
 
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2017 11:34 am

Re: Change your password tool

Post by kether » Sun Jul 22, 2018 12:52 pm

I put all the pages in one folder, the "members" folder. Then I created a page where I put the tool "change password" with the same database. I tried to edit the database, but I still have the same error. I put a tool at random, and I manage to edit the database without problem. So there is only this "password tool" that doesn't work. Is not this another problem? Is not it because I'm using a flat file database?

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 18671
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Change your password tool

Post by Pablo » Sun Jul 22, 2018 1:06 pm

How are you trying to edit the database?
Are you sure the settings are the same as for the other tools?

kether
 
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2017 11:34 am

Re: Change your password tool

Post by kether » Sun Jul 22, 2018 5:42 pm

I do not touch any settings. I just take the tools as it is given in the software and I just replace the name of the database by the name of mine. For all tools, I can edit my database locally, except for the "change your password's tool". This is where I do not understand, even when I create a page at the root of the site and I put the tool on this page.
I am editing the database by clicking on the "edit database" button of each tool.

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 18671
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Change your password tool

Post by Pablo » Sun Jul 22, 2018 5:56 pm

But, why are you trying to edit the database specially here?

kether
 
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2017 11:34 am

Re: Change your password tool

Post by kether » Sun Jul 22, 2018 6:59 pm

Because it's one of two ways I know. Editing it locally and then updating in the server, seems easier than logging in every time in the online admin session. If there is a better method, tell me.
Yhank you

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 18671
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Change your password tool

Post by Pablo » Sun Jul 22, 2018 8:15 pm

But why in the 'password recovery' tool?

Isn't is more locally to do it in the Admin tool?

kether
 
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2017 11:34 am

Re: Change your password tool

Post by kether » Mon Jul 23, 2018 9:16 am

Ok, I understood for more security. I will do it now through the admin tool. Thanks.

However my problem is still not fixed because this "change your password" tool does not work, no matter where I put the page, while all other tools work without problem. So I still do not know how to give my friends the ability to change their passwords if they wish. Pity

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 18671
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Change your password tool

Post by Pablo » Mon Jul 23, 2018 9:40 am

Are there any errors when you call the page?
What are your settings?
What is the generated PHP code?

kether
 
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2017 11:34 am

Re: Change your password tool

Post by kether » Thu Mar 28, 2019 5:13 pm

Pablo wrote:
Mon Jul 23, 2018 9:40 am
Are there any errors when you call the page?
What are your settings?
What is the generated PHP code?
Hello Pablo,
I was very busy these last months ... My apologies... I come back to this problem of changing password in the member area.
Nothing has been changed in the original tool. I just put the flatfile database

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 18671
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Change your password tool

Post by Pablo » Thu Mar 28, 2019 6:33 pm

Are there any errors when you call the page?
What are your settings?
What is the generated PHP code?

kether
 
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2017 11:34 am

Re: Change your password tool

Post by kether » Fri Mar 29, 2019 2:29 pm

Hi Pablo,

- Are there any errors when you call the page? NO, i have checked
- What are your settings? I did not put any personal settings. I just took the program tool and just replaced the database with the site database, then I tried to edit the database to see if it works, it's where I have the following message: "the database is not found on the server!
- What is the generated PHP code? I do not understand because the page is in php, but the code of the tool is in html. Should I give the code of the page once the tool "change password" placed in?

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 18671
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Change your password tool

Post by Pablo » Fri Mar 29, 2019 2:46 pm

I have the following message: "the database is not found on the server!
This indicates that the file is not in the excepted location.
Please make sure the database is in the right folder.

kether
 
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2017 11:34 am

Re: Change your password tool

Post by kether » Fri Mar 29, 2019 3:09 pm

The problem is that the database works very well with all other tools except that of "change password", so it's not a problem of location. This is what I do not understand.

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 18671
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Change your password tool

Post by Pablo » Fri Mar 29, 2019 4:44 pm

Maybe the "change password" page is in another folder?
What is the PHP code of the page?
What is the location of the page?

Post Reply