*SOLVED* How would you do those moving-image backgrounds in WB?

All WYSIWYG Web Builder support issues that are not covered in the forums below.
Forum rules
PLEASE READ THE FORUM RULES BEFORE YOU POST:
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=1901

MUST READ:
http://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/getting_started.html
WYSIWYG Web Builder FAQ
User avatar
etcbbu
 
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 3:00 pm

*SOLVED* How would you do those moving-image backgrounds in WB?

Post by etcbbu » Tue Jun 26, 2018 7:55 pm

Hi all, how could you duplicate this in WB:

https://roastsocialkitchen.com/

Those images at the top of that page, that are moving images that find the width of the page? I see this around, on web-pages, sometimes.

Do you just set Floating Layers, but then set the Background Image to be a moving .GIF file of a Floating Layer..?
Last edited by etcbbu on Wed Aug 08, 2018 8:17 pm, edited 5 times in total.
www.ktravisj.com

Travis J Consulting, LLC -
Website Design/Development/Maintenance, Web-Marketing/Social Media/Social Networking, SEO/Search Engine Optimization

www.ktravisj.com

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 14099
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: How would you do those moving-image backgrounds in WB?

Post by Pablo » Tue Jun 26, 2018 8:06 pm

You can use a layout grid, to align elements like this.

User avatar
etcbbu
 
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 3:00 pm

Re: How would you do those moving-image backgrounds in WB?

Post by etcbbu » Wed Jun 27, 2018 4:23 pm

Pablo,

Can you give me an example of what it is that you mean by aligning elements, like that? From what I understand, "Layout Grid" is a way to define how objects sit, and their position(s) and stuff, next to each other, relative to each other.

Would it be a moving .GIF that is an "element" we're talking about aligning?? I'm not really interested in the rest of the content on that https://roastsocialkitchen.com/ website I shared. Literally, I'm just wondering about how to execute the one thing, that moving-image background in the background, near the top of the page that the user sees when they first load the site. And I see that around other websites, too; like, I think PayPal's main website does it.
www.ktravisj.com

Travis J Consulting, LLC -
Website Design/Development/Maintenance, Web-Marketing/Social Media/Social Networking, SEO/Search Engine Optimization

www.ktravisj.com


User avatar
etcbbu
 
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 3:00 pm

Re: How would you do those moving-image backgrounds in WB?

Post by etcbbu » Wed Jun 27, 2018 7:08 pm

Pablo,

That makes sense; I get how to use the Parallax effect for static images. I get that. Makes sense. The main thing about which I'm wondering, is for these websites like www.paypal.com and https://roastsocialkitchen.com , are they literally just setting moving .GIF images as a "Layer" "Background Image" set to either "Cover" or "Parallax"? Like, is that a way we could accomplish these moving-image page background images in WB?
www.ktravisj.com

Travis J Consulting, LLC -
Website Design/Development/Maintenance, Web-Marketing/Social Media/Social Networking, SEO/Search Engine Optimization

www.ktravisj.com

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 14099
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: How would you do those moving-image backgrounds in WB?

Post by Pablo » Wed Jun 27, 2018 8:05 pm

Do you mean the background video?

User avatar
etcbbu
 
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 3:00 pm

Re: How would you do those moving-image backgrounds in WB?

Post by etcbbu » Wed Jun 27, 2018 8:20 pm

Oh yes, sorry; I thought it was .GIF image. But yes, if it is video, then yes.
www.ktravisj.com

Travis J Consulting, LLC -
Website Design/Development/Maintenance, Web-Marketing/Social Media/Social Networking, SEO/Search Engine Optimization

www.ktravisj.com

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 14099
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: How would you do those moving-image backgrounds in WB?

Post by Pablo » Wed Jun 27, 2018 8:21 pm

You can select 'video 'in the background options of a layer/layout grid.

There are examples for this in the 'Blocks' toolbox.

User avatar
etcbbu
 
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 3:00 pm

Re: How would you do those moving-image backgrounds in WB?

Post by etcbbu » Wed Jun 27, 2018 8:23 pm

Haha..jeez, I ask such stupid questions sometimes..

Thank you, Pablo!

:D :D :D WB IS THE BEST! :D :D :D
www.ktravisj.com

Travis J Consulting, LLC -
Website Design/Development/Maintenance, Web-Marketing/Social Media/Social Networking, SEO/Search Engine Optimization

www.ktravisj.com

User avatar
etcbbu
 
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 3:00 pm

Re: How would you do those moving-image backgrounds in WB?

Post by etcbbu » Sun Jul 01, 2018 12:10 am

Well, never mind, can someone help me know what I am doing wrong?

Check out this page:

https://www.talsichristianschoolfoundat ... uznina.php

And note that on that fourth Layer on that page, the one that is all black, I have configured that Layer to be "Video", and then tried to put this URL in the desired-link-field right next to it:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7dtZ1kI_eMo

But when you load that page, notice that it doesn't show the video, just shows that black-backgrounded-Layer.

What am I doing wrong?

--etcbbu
www.ktravisj.com

Travis J Consulting, LLC -
Website Design/Development/Maintenance, Web-Marketing/Social Media/Social Networking, SEO/Search Engine Optimization

www.ktravisj.com

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 14099
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: How would you do those moving-image backgrounds in WB?

Post by Pablo » Sun Jul 01, 2018 7:03 am

The format of the YouTube URL you have used is wrong. It should be in the format as documented in the help.

User avatar
etcbbu
 
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 3:00 pm

Re: How would you do those moving-image backgrounds in WB?

Post by etcbbu » Sun Jul 01, 2018 10:14 pm

Thank you!
www.ktravisj.com

Travis J Consulting, LLC -
Website Design/Development/Maintenance, Web-Marketing/Social Media/Social Networking, SEO/Search Engine Optimization

www.ktravisj.com

User avatar
etcbbu
 
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 3:00 pm

Re: *SOLVED* How would you do those moving-image backgrounds in WB?

Post by etcbbu » Tue Aug 07, 2018 8:05 pm

I see how I've gotten these videos piping-through and showing as a Layer just fine, on a Desktop/Laptop computer on my default 970-width Brekkpoint.

But, can these videos also be shown on the same 320-pixel-width on a mobile-device, too? Like, if you just make the same Layer visible on the 320-width Breakpoint. Should it also show the video the same?
www.ktravisj.com

Travis J Consulting, LLC -
Website Design/Development/Maintenance, Web-Marketing/Social Media/Social Networking, SEO/Search Engine Optimization

www.ktravisj.com

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 14099
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: How would you do those moving-image backgrounds in WB?

Post by Pablo » Tue Aug 07, 2018 8:28 pm

Should it also show the video the same?
Yes, did you try?

User avatar
etcbbu
 
 
Posts: 401
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 3:00 pm

Re: How would you do those moving-image backgrounds in WB?

Post by etcbbu » Tue Aug 07, 2018 10:48 pm

No, the video looks like it loads, but does not auto-play, like if you look on this page on a Desktop or Laptop computer. It just sort of has it sitting on the first frame of the video with the red YouTube "Play" button. But pressing this play button does not play the video, the video does not even auto-load, and the top-menu does not show the links over the video. Check it out here, on both a Desktop/Laptop display, and then also on a Smartphone:

https://barmsupplies.com/testindex.php
www.ktravisj.com

Travis J Consulting, LLC -
Website Design/Development/Maintenance, Web-Marketing/Social Media/Social Networking, SEO/Search Engine Optimization

www.ktravisj.com

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bluesman and 10 guests