*** SOLVED *** After update V15 fontawesome shows as a rectangle in Firefox

All WYSIWYG Web Builder support issues that are not covered in the forums below.
Forum rules
PLEASE READ THE FORUM RULES BEFORE YOU POST:
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=1901

MUST READ:
http://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/getting_started.html
WYSIWYG Web Builder FAQ
Post Reply
User avatar
Fender
 
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2011 11:01 am

*** SOLVED *** After update V15 fontawesome shows as a rectangle in Firefox

Post by Fender » Sun Jul 14, 2019 12:25 pm

Version 14-7-19 64bit dutch.
Strange things happen after update with the fontawesome published as font in Firefox, just see a rectangle with letters in it.
When I publish this in chrome it shows.
I stumbled on this when I opened my file that was oke and showed everything as it should be, but now with firefox
I have this problem.
Also other files wbsfiles which are using a fontAwesome symbol have this problem in firefox now.
I'm pretty sure a few updates before 14-7-19 this problem didn't exist! because I checked al my files!
https://ufile.io/iqnsjckq here is a wbs to inspect

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 21791
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: After update V15 fontawesome shows as a rectangle in Firefox

Post by Pablo » Sun Jul 14, 2019 12:33 pm

Does it still work in WB14?
Maybe you have installed an update of FireFox which broke this functionality?

If it still works in WB14, do you see any differences in the generated code?

User avatar
Fender
 
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2011 11:01 am

Re: After update V15 fontawesome shows as a rectangle in Firefox

Post by Fender » Sun Jul 14, 2019 12:46 pm

Firefox had an update. But on my original site the fontawesome shows the right way with the same firefoxbrowser.
I noticed that on my website if I look at the used fonts it shows Fontawesome but now it shows at the used fonts
Times New Roman the class of the icon is the same.

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 21791
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: After update V15 fontawesome shows as a rectangle in Firefox

Post by Pablo » Sun Jul 14, 2019 12:54 pm

Does the problem also occur when you published the website?
Or is it only in local preview?

I think it's a bug in the FireFox update.

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 21791
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: After update V15 fontawesome shows as a rectangle in Firefox

Post by Pablo » Sun Jul 14, 2019 1:26 pm

It looks like FireFox has a bug in local font processing:

This workaround may fix the issue:
http://testingfreak.com/how-to-fix-cros ... me-and-ie/

User avatar
Fender
 
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2011 11:01 am

Re: After update V15 fontawesome shows as a rectangle in Firefox

Post by Fender » Sun Jul 14, 2019 1:32 pm

I uploaded the page with the icons and it shows the correct preview, also on my wampserver it shows the right way.
So I has to be in preview only that the problem occurs.
So no failure of your programme but due to firefox local preview!

Beth
 
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 10:55 pm

Re: *** SOLVED *** After update V15 fontawesome shows as a rectangle in Firefox

Post by Beth » Wed Jul 17, 2019 11:42 pm

I too have seen this with FontAwsome in FireFox since this update, but HERE'S MORE: PDF files (linked as file) will not show, although they do in Chrome and they used to in FireFox.

Just a warning to everyone...

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 21791
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: *** SOLVED *** After update V15 fontawesome shows as a rectangle in Firefox

Post by Pablo » Thu Jul 18, 2019 6:05 am


User avatar
Fender
 
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2011 11:01 am

Re: *** SOLVED *** After update V15 fontawesome shows as a rectangle in Firefox

Post by Fender » Thu Jul 18, 2019 10:14 am

https://support.mozilla.org/bm/questions/1264762
Above the answer of support Mozilla.
They let you change the privacy.file_unique_origin preference to switch the value from true to false
instead of security.fileuri.strict_origin_policy as mentioned at testingfreek.com.

And here https://developer.mozilla.org/nl/docs/W ... estNotHttp
you can read that it has to be the privacy.file_unique_origin preference that has to be changed.

Post Reply