*** SOLVED *** WWB15 not opening

All WYSIWYG Web Builder support issues that are not covered in the forums below.
Forum rules
PLEASE READ THE FORUM RULES BEFORE YOU POST:
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=1901

MUST READ:
http://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/getting_started.html
WYSIWYG Web Builder FAQ
Idler
 
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 9:14 am

Re: WWB15 not opening

Post by Idler » Tue Jul 28, 2020 7:59 am

Pablo wrote:
Tue Jul 28, 2020 7:25 am
Do you have any links that can walk me through the various things that I need to do to help get WWB15 open?
There is nothing I can do in the software to prevent it from being blocked. If this was possible then real virusses could also do that.
I do not have Kaspersky so I cannot help you configure it.
The only other thing you can try is to completely remove Kaspersky to see if that works.
I removed all Kaspersky products completely and turned off the Windows Defender Firewall. I uninstalled WWB15 and reinstalled then rebooted my laptop with the internet disconnected. I tried to open WWB15 and nothing. The loading wheel starts going but then stops. I have looked in the Task Manager and webbuilder.exe isn't there. Maybe the answer for me is to go back to the previous version as that worked before, maybe it will work again?

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 21841
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: WWB15 not opening

Post by Pablo » Tue Jul 28, 2020 8:03 am

There are no major changes in the way WWB works, the latest release is just a small update. So, I am not sure if going back to a previous version will work.

Are there any errors in the Windows event log?

Idler
 
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 9:14 am

Re: WWB15 not opening

Post by Idler » Tue Jul 28, 2020 8:16 am

DELETED
Last edited by Idler on Tue Jul 28, 2020 8:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

Idler
 
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 9:14 am

Re: WWB15 not opening

Post by Idler » Tue Jul 28, 2020 8:16 am

Pablo wrote:
Tue Jul 28, 2020 8:03 am
There are no major changes in the way WWB works, the latest release is just a small update. So, I am not sure if going back to a previous version will work.

Are there any errors in the Windows event log?
Yes, there is an error. https://jmp.sh/elNa2yT

Idler
 
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 9:14 am

Re: WWB15 not opening

Post by Idler » Tue Jul 28, 2020 8:23 am

zinc wrote:
Tue Jul 28, 2020 7:40 am
Idler wrote:
Tue Jul 28, 2020 7:18 am
zinc wrote:
Tue Jul 28, 2020 7:06 am
1. Reboot your PC
2. Switch off the AV and ignore the warnings
3. Run WWB and see if it starts. If it does, do your work and once finished switch the AV back on. This way you will be able to establish if WWB is in the blacklist or not.
4. If so add it to the Whitelist.

This should do the trick. I have had this with another software and it worked.

Also check the task manager if the EXE is actually running....
Hi Zinc

Thank you for your suggestion. I have just tried this but unfortunately it did not work. I checked the Task Manager and it was not running. Do you have any other thoughts? I am Google-ing like crazy here to try and find a solution.

MT
I
:?
Ummm. As Pablo says try removing the AV. WWB is very good and not demanding and I am very surprised that it does not start.

Aslo uninstall it and remove the directory and the folder in the MyDocs as well as registry entries. Reboot and try installing a fresh copy.
Hi Zinc

How do I 'remove the directory and the folder in the MyDocs as well as registry entries'? I am not technical so I would appreciate a 'For Dummies' guide please.

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 21841
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: WWB15 not opening

Post by Pablo » Tue Jul 28, 2020 8:35 am

The event log seems to indicate that the exe file is corrupt.
Did you try to reinstall?
Did you try both the 32 and 64bit versions?

User avatar
zinc
 
 
Posts: 1514
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 3:06 pm
Location: London, United Kingdom

Re: WWB15 not opening

Post by zinc » Tue Jul 28, 2020 9:12 am

Idler wrote:
Tue Jul 28, 2020 8:23 am
zinc wrote:
Tue Jul 28, 2020 7:40 am
Idler wrote:
Tue Jul 28, 2020 7:18 am


Hi Zinc

Thank you for your suggestion. I have just tried this but unfortunately it did not work. I checked the Task Manager and it was not running. Do you have any other thoughts? I am Google-ing like crazy here to try and find a solution.

MT
I
:?
Ummm. As Pablo says try removing the AV. WWB is very good and not demanding and I am very surprised that it does not start.

Aslo uninstall it and remove the directory and the folder in the MyDocs as well as registry entries. Reboot and try installing a fresh copy.
Hi Zinc

How do I 'remove the directory and the folder in the MyDocs as well as registry entries'? I am not technical so I would appreciate a 'For Dummies' guide please.
Sorry I too have just seen the log file. So do what Pablo says. Best to download a fresh copy and run the setup as Admin. Right click on the EXE and choose the option "Run as Admin...".
Good news everyone! COVID-19 is STILL here!

Idler
 
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 9:14 am

Re: WWB15 not opening

Post by Idler » Tue Jul 28, 2020 9:50 am

Pablo wrote:
Tue Jul 28, 2020 8:35 am
The event log seems to indicate that the exe file is corrupt.
Did you try to reinstall?
Did you try both the 32 and 64bit versions?
I have now downloaded the 64bit version and I got this error: https://jmp.sh/hBzPC8O

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 21841
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: WWB15 not opening

Post by Pablo » Tue Jul 28, 2020 10:03 am

Unfortunately, there is no any useful information in the event log.

Did you do a full install and reinstall?
Maybe one or more extesions became corrupt?

Go to Documents\WYSIWYG Web Builder and rename
"WYSIWYG Web Builder"
to
"WYSIWYG Web Builder - backup"

Does it work now?

Idler
 
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 9:14 am

Re: WWB15 not opening

Post by Idler » Tue Jul 28, 2020 10:32 am

Pablo wrote:
Tue Jul 28, 2020 10:03 am
Unfortunately, there is no any useful information in the event log.

Did you do a full install and reinstall?
Maybe one or more extesions became corrupt?

Go to Documents\WYSIWYG Web Builder and rename
"WYSIWYG Web Builder"
to
"WYSIWYG Web Builder - backup"

Does it work now?
Hi Pablo

I renamed "WYSIWYG Web Builder" to "WYSIWYG Web Builder - backup". Hasn't helped.

I then did a full uninstall, rebooted the laptop, and re-installed. Then, with Kaspersky switched off and Windows Defender Firewall switched off, I tried to open WWB15 but it did not open. I am not a technical person so I just have no idea what else to try. If you have any other suggestions I would be very grateful for them; I am willing to try anything as I need to access my sites asap. Thank you.

WWBman
 
 
Posts: 868
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 6:10 pm

Re: WWB15 not opening

Post by WWBman » Tue Jul 28, 2020 10:57 am

Have you tried going back to a System Restorepoint prior to the recent update?

Idler
 
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 9:14 am

Re: WWB15 not opening

Post by Idler » Tue Jul 28, 2020 12:58 pm

WWBman wrote:
Tue Jul 28, 2020 10:57 am
Have you tried going back to a System Restorepoint prior to the recent update?
I haven't and I don't know how to do that. What would worry me is that it might change other things that have happened since. I don't know how it works.

I have tried to open WWB15 whilst the Task Manager is open. The webbuilder.exe momentarily appears on the Task Manager but it then disappears. Does this suggest anything? I am still trying everything I can find online concerning Apps not opening on Windows 10.

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 21841
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: WWB15 not opening

Post by Pablo » Tue Jul 28, 2020 1:04 pm

I think this suggests that another process kills the application.
If the application closed because of an internal error then it would display an error message before shutting down.

Idler
 
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 9:14 am

Re: WWB15 not opening

Post by Idler » Tue Jul 28, 2020 1:09 pm

Pablo wrote:
Tue Jul 28, 2020 1:04 pm
I think this suggests that another process kills the application.
If the application closed because of an internal error then it would display an error message before shutting down.
Sorry to keep asking for help but do you have any suggestions based on this? It is just so weird as before the update it all worked fine and I cannot think of anything that I have done over the passed days that would cause this. I don't play around with the internals of a computer as I don't know anything about it. This is all very puzzling.

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 21841
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: WWB15 not opening

Post by Pablo » Tue Jul 28, 2020 1:14 pm

I can only speak from previous experiences. There has never been another reason for the application not running.

Post Reply