images resizing across all breakpoints

Questions related to the Responsive Web Design tools of WYSIWYG Web Builder.
Forum rules
PLEASE READ THE FORUM RULES BEFORE YOU POST:
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=1901

MUST READ:
http://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/respon ... esign.html
Please read this first before posting any questions! Also check out the example project to get an idea how the RWD concept works.

Responsive Web Design FAQ:
http://wysiwygwebbuilder.com/forum/view ... 10&t=63817
katepd
 
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 12:52 pm

images resizing across all breakpoints

Post by katepd » Sat Sep 16, 2017 12:58 pm

this is happening to me in version 11 and 12 - when i resize an image in one breakpoint - it resizes across ALL breakpoints.

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 18897
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: images resizing across all breakpoints

Post by Pablo » Sat Sep 16, 2017 2:34 pm

This is most likely because you have applied effects or filters to the image, those only work on one size.
Please read 'Which objects are not responsive' in the FAQ:
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=63817

Tip: always include a link to your project so I can see what you have done.

User avatar
crispy68
 
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:43 am
Location: Acworth, GA
Contact:

Re: images resizing across all breakpoints

Post by crispy68 » Sat Sep 16, 2017 2:38 pm

An image is responsive and can be resized in breakpoints. However, have you added an effect to the image like a shadow or rotation? Any effects will cause it to not be responsive in breakpoints.

andyp
 
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 8:56 am
Location: Brighton UK
Contact:

Re: images resizing across all breakpoints

Post by andyp » Sat Sep 16, 2017 2:59 pm

I find that this happens every now and then with me.. and no effects are ever applied.

I have six or so break-points and sometimes as I am scaling down to each break-point I sometimes find the final last couple of break-points seem to automatically resize the image.

I cant reproduce this on demand and it doesnt always happen....I have just accepted it.... because it is quite useful although I am aware it is not by design... ;)

I do believe that I have previously mentioned this ....
Making mistakes....and still learning as I go along.. and very grateful to those who know far more than me... :)
http://www.apgraphx.co.uk

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 18897
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: images resizing across all breakpoints

Post by Pablo » Sat Sep 16, 2017 3:03 pm

I cant reproduce this on demand and it doesnt always happen.
This should only happen when you have applied filters, effects, shadows etc.
You can check whether an object is responsive by enabling 'non-responsive objects'. See the FAQ for more information.

katepd
 
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 12:52 pm

Re: images resizing across all breakpoints

Post by katepd » Sat Sep 16, 2017 3:34 pm

Thanks for the information about effects - this might just solve my problems. Many thanks to all.

andyp
 
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 8:56 am
Location: Brighton UK
Contact:

Re: images resizing across all breakpoints

Post by andyp » Sun Sep 17, 2017 7:46 pm

www.apgraphx.co.uk/resize


Video Demo (minimum screen 1024) video runs on a bit after actual demo...

8 Break Points

Open image > Resize image in Default

Look through each Break Point and image is resized throughout


As far as I am aware the image should remain the same original size through all of the Break Points until resized
to suitable new size


Go back to Default > Resize image> Go through each Break Point and image remains as previous resizing

AP
Making mistakes....and still learning as I go along.. and very grateful to those who know far more than me... :)
http://www.apgraphx.co.uk

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 18897
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: images resizing across all breakpoints

Post by Pablo » Sun Sep 17, 2017 8:44 pm

Please share your project so I can see your settings.

andyp
 
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 8:56 am
Location: Brighton UK
Contact:

Re: images resizing across all breakpoints

Post by andyp » Mon Sep 18, 2017 8:09 am

This wasnt actually a project as such...

This was just a quick demo on a single page... by opening up WB12 and applying a single image to ie... however... I will look at trying to recreate it again and save it as a project
Making mistakes....and still learning as I go along.. and very grateful to those who know far more than me... :)
http://www.apgraphx.co.uk

andyp
 
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 8:56 am
Location: Brighton UK
Contact:

Re: images resizing across all breakpoints

Post by andyp » Mon Sep 18, 2017 2:38 pm

I have recreated this as a Project and it is available here:

www.apgraphx.co.uk/downloads/resize-test.zip

Details:

I use my own Break Point Template for all projects.

This is a bare project that has eight break points in

For this example project all that has been added is an image.

This was then resized (downwards) in the Default BP

When looking at each BP the image has automatically been resized.

I have left this Project as provided with nothing else changed as shown

Thanks

AndyP
Making mistakes....and still learning as I go along.. and very grateful to those who know far more than me... :)
http://www.apgraphx.co.uk

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 18897
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: images resizing across all breakpoints

Post by Pablo » Mon Sep 18, 2017 3:39 pm

Thanks for sharing the project.
However it seems to work correct for me. I can set a different size for the image in each breakpoint.

Do I need to do something special to make it not work?

andyp
 
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 8:56 am
Location: Brighton UK
Contact:

Re: images resizing across all breakpoints

Post by andyp » Mon Sep 18, 2017 8:05 pm

Yes I know that in each Break Point you can set each size...

The point being is that on the initial resizing of the image in the Default BP it resizes the images through out the other BP'S......

If this is by design then that is fine and there is no issue.. But it doesnt always work this...

... after the resizing of the image can suit each BP

Andyp
Making mistakes....and still learning as I go along.. and very grateful to those who know far more than me... :)
http://www.apgraphx.co.uk

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 18897
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: images resizing across all breakpoints

Post by Pablo » Mon Sep 18, 2017 8:42 pm

This is behavior by design. It has always worked this way.

andyp
 
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 8:56 am
Location: Brighton UK
Contact:

Re: images resizing across all breakpoints

Post by andyp » Mon Sep 18, 2017 10:23 pm

Ok great ... but I am confused here... which doesnt take a lot nowadays... :)

This is because of what has been posted in this thread...


Katped: " this is happening to me in version 11 and 12 - when i resize an image in one breakpoint - it resizes across ALL breakpoints."

Pablo: "This is most likely because you have applied effects or filters to the image, those only work on one size"


However... no effects have been applied to the image contained in the project I sent? And yet from the above I have read this to mean that an image 'only with effects' and then adjusted causes the image to resize throughout the BP's

This would mean that is the images doesnt have any effects added to it then it will not be adjusted in size throughout the project when resizing in one BP...

I have obviously misread something here as I remain confused :)

AndyP
Making mistakes....and still learning as I go along.. and very grateful to those who know far more than me... :)
http://www.apgraphx.co.uk

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 18897
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: images resizing across all breakpoints

Post by Pablo » Tue Sep 19, 2017 6:04 am

If you add an image then it must have some size, so the initial size of the image will be used across all breakpoints.
After placing the image you can change the size in each breakpoints.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests