Different offset for bookmarks in the breakpoints

Questions related to the Responsive Web Design tools of WYSIWYG Web Builder.
Forum rules
PLEASE READ THE FORUM RULES BEFORE YOU POST:
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=1901

MUST READ:
http://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/respon ... esign.html
Please read this first before posting any questions! Also check out the example project to get an idea how the RWD concept works.

Responsive Web Design FAQ:
http://wysiwygwebbuilder.com/forum/view ... 10&t=63817
User avatar
Bluesman
 
 
Posts: 817
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 5:43 pm
Location: Ecuador
Contact:

Different offset for bookmarks in the breakpoints

Post by Bluesman » Sun Sep 08, 2019 10:30 pm

Hi.... did some projects back in WWB 12. Neaded to have different offset for the same bookmark in different breakpoints. Now when updateing in WWB 15, I can only have the same offset in all breakpoints?
I have also created a new project where I nead to have different offset in all the breakpoints... but doesn't apply?
Is this how it is?
"Make My Day"

See my Website

Siegbert
 
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2019 5:51 am

Re: Different offset for bookmarks in the breakpoints

Post by Siegbert » Mon Sep 09, 2019 5:46 am

I only started with WWB 15, but I have the same wish:

https://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/forum ... 31#p430848

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 21525
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Different offset for bookmarks in the breakpoints

Post by Pablo » Mon Sep 09, 2019 6:00 am

It is not possible to have different offsets, because offsets are controlled by JavaScript and the script is the same for all breakpoints.

User avatar
Bluesman
 
 
Posts: 817
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 5:43 pm
Location: Ecuador
Contact:

Re: Different offset for bookmarks in the breakpoints

Post by Bluesman » Mon Sep 09, 2019 9:49 am

Pablo wrote:
Mon Sep 09, 2019 6:00 am
It is not possible to have different offsets, because offsets are controlled by JavaScript and the script is the same for all breakpoints.
Ok, Pablo thanks. I don't know how I made this to work in the WWB 12 version :? but it's a pitty it doesn't work... now I have to setup separate bookmarks for every breakpoint, get som "overkill" with bookmarks to keep track on. It's because I have smooth scroll from the menu that are placed on a master page. The bookmarks for this are setted up in the "layout grids" and they doesn't track to the exactly grid, differs 70pxl as the most...
I shall see what workarround I can do :roll:
"Make My Day"

See my Website

Siegbert
 
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2019 5:51 am

Re: Different offset for bookmarks in the breakpoints

Post by Siegbert » Mon Sep 09, 2019 11:11 am

Then have fun Bluesman.
I also tried and then lost the perspective.
Maybe you can give me a hint if you got it

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 21525
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Different offset for bookmarks in the breakpoints

Post by Pablo » Mon Sep 09, 2019 11:16 am

There is no other way then to use different bookmarks.

User avatar
Bluesman
 
 
Posts: 817
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 5:43 pm
Location: Ecuador
Contact:

Re: Different offset for bookmarks in the breakpoints

Post by Bluesman » Mon Sep 09, 2019 2:19 pm

Pablo wrote:
Mon Sep 09, 2019 11:16 am
There is no other way then to use different bookmarks.
Ok Pablo... then I have to use the "Standard Bookmark" tool. Reason why I'm not using this is that when placing togheter with Layout grids you must have them dragged out a bit to the left of the viewport for make them fixed. Otherwise they snaps into the grid in wrong position.
When having them dragged out to the left of the viewport they reacts with the scrollbar and I get error: "Object is outside the viewport"
How can I avoid this?
"Make My Day"

See my Website

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 21525
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Different offset for bookmarks in the breakpoints

Post by Pablo » Mon Sep 09, 2019 2:40 pm

if you drop an object on a layout grid then it will become part of the layout grid.
Note that it's usually better to place the bookmark inside the grid, because if the layout is dynamic, the height will be different based on the width.

User avatar
Bluesman
 
 
Posts: 817
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 5:43 pm
Location: Ecuador
Contact:

Re: Different offset for bookmarks in the breakpoints

Post by Bluesman » Mon Sep 09, 2019 3:02 pm

Pablo wrote:
Mon Sep 09, 2019 2:40 pm
if you drop an object on a layout grid then it will become part of the layout grid.
Note that it's usually better to place the bookmark inside the grid, because if the layout is dynamic, the height will be different based on the width.
Ok... but dropping it inside the layoutgrid I get the same problem as when using the layout grids own bookmark... "moment 22"
If the position would be absolute when using the layout grids bookmark I didn't have to change the "offset" in different breakpoints??
Why isn't the bookmark absolute with it's layout grid in every breakpoint?
"Make My Day"

See my Website

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 21525
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Different offset for bookmarks in the breakpoints

Post by Pablo » Mon Sep 09, 2019 3:50 pm

Why isn't the bookmark absolute with it's layout grid in every breakpoint?
Because the purpose of using layout grids is to create a flexible/floating layouts. So ,that means that the position and size of the grid is undefined, because it depends on the viewport width.

User avatar
Bluesman
 
 
Posts: 817
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 5:43 pm
Location: Ecuador
Contact:

Re: Different offset for bookmarks in the breakpoints

Post by Bluesman » Mon Sep 09, 2019 6:16 pm

But what I mean is... Shouldn't the bookmark for the Layout Grid start were the Layout grid starts??
"Make My Day"

See my Website

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 21525
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Different offset for bookmarks in the breakpoints

Post by Pablo » Mon Sep 09, 2019 8:47 pm

Yes, if it's inside the grid.

User avatar
Bluesman
 
 
Posts: 817
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 5:43 pm
Location: Ecuador
Contact:

Re: Different offset for bookmarks in the breakpoints

Post by Bluesman » Mon Sep 09, 2019 11:02 pm

Pablo wrote:
Mon Sep 09, 2019 8:47 pm
Yes, if it's inside the grid.
As I wrote earlier... I mean the setting for bookmark that you have in the "Layout Grids" properties settings. Not the "Standard Tools" bookmark??
"Make My Day"

See my Website

User avatar
Bluesman
 
 
Posts: 817
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 5:43 pm
Location: Ecuador
Contact:

Re: Different offset for bookmarks in the breakpoints

Post by Bluesman » Tue Sep 10, 2019 2:56 am

Siegbert wrote:
Mon Sep 09, 2019 11:11 am
Then have fun Bluesman.
I also tried and then lost the perspective.
Maybe you can give me a hint if you got it
Hi Siegbert, I'm doing it the old way with the "Standard tools" bookmarks. I place them into the viewport and tight on to the right border, just some pxl out. Changing for each breakpoint so my scroll spy works for all breakpoints. When ready with one bookmark I "lock" it so I don't change them by mistake later on.
But it surely works :D
"Make My Day"

See my Website

Siegbert
 
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2019 5:51 am

Re: Different offset for bookmarks in the breakpoints

Post by Siegbert » Tue Sep 10, 2019 5:15 am

Hello Bluesmann, so I did it too.
But I did not lock the bookmarks.
It was confusing to me that at 4 breakpoints I have 4 bookmarks, some of which are placed at default in the middle of the page. Is it correct that in the end I have to deactivate 3 objects at each breakpoint?

Post Reply