Strange RWD problem

Questions related to the Responsive Web Design tools of WYSIWYG Web Builder.
Forum rules
PLEASE READ THE FORUM RULES BEFORE YOU POST:
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=1901

MUST READ:
http://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/respon ... esign.html
Please read this first before posting any questions! Also check out the example project to get an idea how the RWD concept works.

Responsive Web Design FAQ:
http://wysiwygwebbuilder.com/forum/view ... 10&t=63817
User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 21525
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Strange RWD problem

Post by Pablo » Mon May 25, 2020 8:01 am

It looks OK for me;)

User avatar
alex4orly
 
 
Posts: 986
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 8:17 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Strange RWD problem

Post by alex4orly » Mon May 25, 2020 8:22 am

Thanks so much, now i can get on and construct the site

Cheers

User avatar
alex4orly
 
 
Posts: 986
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 8:17 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Strange RWD problem

Post by alex4orly » Tue May 26, 2020 2:37 am

Hello again,

It seems, I was happy too soon. After playing with the break points, it fixed the Ipad but got the Galaxy wrong again
I have only 2 break points - 480, 768 and it seems that at 480 it loads what belongs in 768.
I numbered the captions from 1 to 3, 1 is the full screen on my Windows desktop

Please see some screen shots
This is the initial visit to the page : https://squadron-125.org.il/home2768.php in desktop mode
Here is the image on my phone : Image
Once I close the "x" it comes to this : Image
Then I move the dialog to the right : Image

The page heading says 3 - 480px, but the dialog loaded says 2 - 768 px

Why?

Here is a single page project that demonstrates the same problem : https://squadron-125.org.il/singlepage.wbs
Or visit : https://squadron-125.org.il/page1.html to see it on a mobile phone

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 21525
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Strange RWD problem

Post by Pablo » Tue May 26, 2020 6:26 am

Maybe the Galaxy browser is displaying an older version of the page from cache?

User avatar
alex4orly
 
 
Posts: 986
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 8:17 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Strange RWD problem

Post by alex4orly » Tue May 26, 2020 7:58 am

OK, this was of course my first thought... Didn't help.
So, I tried on my mobile 2 other browsers, seems to be almost OK, but

In my 480 px breakpoint on Firefox on my mobile I get this : Image
My setup at this point is Image

But the dialog still comes up wider than the screen itself, is my setup for the dialog wrong?

What can I do about it?

Thanks

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 21525
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Strange RWD problem

Post by Pablo » Tue May 26, 2020 9:04 am

I do not see any issues of my devices (PC, iPad, iPhone).
Maybe there is something wrong with your device?

User avatar
alex4orly
 
 
Posts: 986
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 8:17 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Strange RWD problem

Post by alex4orly » Tue May 26, 2020 9:26 am

The problem only shows up on Android when I introduce the 768 bp. WE have 4 different Android devices 2 mobiles and 2 tablets of different models.

It works fine on a neighbour's old iPad

If I avoid the 768 bp, then, on the Android and Apple tablets, the welcome screen comes too small - the setup of the 480 bp.

Does my dialog setup look OK to you? IT shows wider than the actual device screen and the visitor needs to scroll sideways to read the text inside the dialog. The content is a html page that at the 480 bp is set to 400 px with of the Layoutgrid and the iFranme it loads into is wider

Any suggestions?

Thanks

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 21525
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Strange RWD problem

Post by Pablo » Tue May 26, 2020 10:22 am

The dialog setup looks correct.

Maybe the android devices have a different viewport size, so you will need to add an extra breakpoint?

User avatar
alex4orly
 
 
Posts: 986
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 8:17 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Strange RWD problem

Post by alex4orly » Tue May 26, 2020 11:18 am

Yes, I thought about , at what point?

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 21525
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Strange RWD problem

Post by Pablo » Tue May 26, 2020 11:36 am

I do not know which screensize your device has, so you will have to look this up yourself.
But I guess it's somewhere between 768 and 480

User avatar
alex4orly
 
 
Posts: 986
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 8:17 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Strange RWD problem

Post by alex4orly » Tue May 26, 2020 12:14 pm

This is something I am confused about
When I check the resolution on my phone, it shows 1080 x 2220

So, what is actually, bp 480 or 768

Thanks

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 21525
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Strange RWD problem

Post by Pablo » Tue May 26, 2020 12:36 pm


User avatar
alex4orly
 
 
Posts: 986
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 8:17 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Strange RWD problem

Post by alex4orly » Tue May 26, 2020 12:43 pm

Very good, but
1. How can I detect in JavaScript?
2. Is there a ratio between resolution and viewpoint? If so, what is it?
Thanks again

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 21525
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Strange RWD problem

Post by Pablo » Tue May 26, 2020 1:11 pm

Is there a ratio between resolution and viewpoint? If so, what is it?
This depends on the device.

You can use the website to determine the viewport. Based on that you can an extra breakpoint,.
Or just try something between 480 and 768 and see if that works.

User avatar
alex4orly
 
 
Posts: 986
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 8:17 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Strange RWD problem

Post by alex4orly » Tue May 26, 2020 10:52 pm

OK, On my mobile phone - the Viewport is 360 x 612
I added a bk at 320, set the dialog width at 320 but now, when the page loads, it loads as if I am holding the phone in Landscape mode.

When I turn the phone around and back - it repositions the dialog into portrait mode

I tried changing the dialog from JQuery to Bootstarp, it loads it immediatly in portrait view

With this issue of ViewPort, it seems it will be more practical to be able to load pages based on ViewPort sizes and not set any breakpoints at all, or am I wrong? Is that at all possible?

Thanks again

Post Reply