Accordion

Questions related to the Responsive Web Design tools of WYSIWYG Web Builder.
Forum rules
PLEASE READ THE FORUM RULES BEFORE YOU POST:
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=1901

MUST READ:
http://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/respon ... esign.html
Please read this first before posting any questions! Also check out the example project to get an idea how the RWD concept works.

Responsive Web Design FAQ:
http://wysiwygwebbuilder.com/forum/view ... 10&t=63817
Post Reply
Joel
 
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 10:10 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Accordion

Post by Joel » Mon Jun 15, 2020 6:42 am

Is Accordion even responsive? Are there any limits on maximum height and minimum width?

When I put a text in it which shows fine in one break point, in smaller the text is not seen in full, regardless that it shows within the boundaries in the working project. Any ideas why not?

User avatar
BaconFries
 
 
Posts: 4926
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:32 pm

Re: Accordion

Post by BaconFries » Mon Jun 15, 2020 7:57 am

If you set the accordion inside a layout grid you will make it flexible / responsive so the text will render correctly in your breakpoints.
See example at bottom of page
http://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/suppor ... owers.html

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 21525
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Accordion

Post by Pablo » Mon Jun 15, 2020 8:49 am

The accordion is responsive. It can have different size in breakpoints or you can use it inside a layout grid to make it flexible.
Also, note that WWB supports two types of accordions:
- jQuery UI
- Bootstrap

Joel
 
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 10:10 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Accordion

Post by Joel » Wed Jun 17, 2020 8:42 am

I'm using a horizontal accordion which I put inside a layout grid, for text objects. Otherwise only parts of the texts were visible at smaller breakpoints.

Now I'm having problems with the text objects to be the sizes and in the positions I want. I understand that can be corrected by adjusting padding. Which padding though: the accordion's or the grid's?

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 21525
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Accordion

Post by Pablo » Wed Jun 17, 2020 9:06 am

To be able to help you, I need to see what you have done.
The software has thousands of option and millions of possible combinations. So, you will need to be more specific.

Related FAQ:
http://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/forum/ ... 10&t=82134

Joel
 
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 10:10 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Accordion

Post by Joel » Wed Jun 17, 2020 12:18 pm

http://www.starofemerald.com/page1.html
That's what happening if I insert a breakpoint (768) without a layout grit.

http://www.starofemerald.com/page2.html
That's within the layout grid.

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 21525
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Accordion

Post by Pablo » Wed Jun 17, 2020 12:44 pm

A horizontal accordion has a fixed height, so it is not possible to make it variable based on the content and width.

Joel
 
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 10:10 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Accordion

Post by Joel » Wed Jun 17, 2020 1:05 pm

Pity.
Ok, thank you.

Joel
 
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 10:10 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Accordion

Post by Joel » Thu Jun 18, 2020 7:05 am

Pablo, does bootstrap accordion have a fixed height too, at a certain point?

I have another breakpoint at 320 and it doesn't show the full text.

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 21525
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Accordion

Post by Pablo » Thu Jun 18, 2020 7:36 am

The bootstrap accordion does not have a fixed size when used in a layout grid.

Joel
 
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 10:10 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Accordion

Post by Joel » Thu Jun 18, 2020 8:22 am

Thank you.

I really haven't used layout grids so please, tell me if I can use them for only one breakpoint and hide them from others, like everything else?

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 21525
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Accordion

Post by Pablo » Thu Jun 18, 2020 8:53 am

If you use layout grids then it better to use them for the entire layout.
Mixing fixed/absolute and flexible layout is possible but it may make it more complicated then it needs to be.

Post Reply