How implement HTTPS on WWB webpage

This section is for posting questions which are not directly related to WYSIWYG Web Builder.
Examples of off topics: web server configuration, hosting, programming related questions, third party scripts.

Note that these questions will generally not be answered by the administrators of this forum.
Post Reply
User avatar
Bluesman
 
 
Posts: 1116
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 5:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

How implement HTTPS on WWB webpage

Post by Bluesman »

Hi all. Remember reading a post about this in the past... but when I now nead to do it I can't find that post :(
I have installed the license for SSL/TSL and HTTPS on the server and redirected to my domain.

Get message from the server support that I must fix this:

In home of user site dir /public_html file .htaccess
RewriteEngine on
#RewriteCond %{HTTPS} off
RewriteCond %{HTTP:X-Forwarded-SSL} off
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^usersite\.com$ [OR]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www\.usersite\.com$
RewriteRule ^/?$ "https\:\/\/www\.usersite\.com\/" [R=301,L]
I comment
the second line

Is it possible to prepare this in WWB 14 so I don't have to do any coding?
"Make My Day"

See my Website
User avatar
crispy68
 
 
Posts: 2737
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:43 am
Location: Acworth, GA
Contact:

Re: How implement HTTPS on WWB webpage

Post by crispy68 »

I recently went from http to https on both of my domains. This is what I added to the .htaccess file to make sure it redirects properly to the secured site and works great:

Code: Select all

RewriteEngine On
RewriteCond %{HTTPS} off
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ https://%{HTTP_HOST}%{REQUEST_URI} [L,R=301]
You can't do this in WB as this is a file on your server. Most hosts have a built in code editor. If yours does, simply log onto your host, locate this file in the root directory. It may be hidden so you will need to see 'hidden' files. Open it up in the code editor and paste the above code. Make a backup of what you got just in case. :wink:
User avatar
Bluesman
 
 
Posts: 1116
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 5:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: How implement HTTPS on WWB webpage

Post by Bluesman »

crispy68 wrote: Thu Oct 11, 2018 10:29 pm I recently went from http to https on both of my domains. This is what I added to the .htaccess file to make sure it redirects properly to the secured site and works great:

Code: Select all

RewriteEngine On
RewriteCond %{HTTPS} off
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ https://%{HTTP_HOST}%{REQUEST_URI} [L,R=301]
You can't do this in WB as this is a file on your server. Most hosts have a built in code editor. If yours does, simply log onto your host, locate this file in the root directory. It may be hidden so you will need to see 'hidden' files. Open it up in the code editor and paste the above code. Make a backup of what you got just in case. :wink:
Thanks crispy68. Will try this at once :) By the way, I bought a script from "phpjabbers" that you suggested for the client filesharing function.... did some small modefications and works great. So thanks again.
"Make My Day"

See my Website
User avatar
Bluesman
 
 
Posts: 1116
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 5:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: How implement HTTPS on WWB webpage

Post by Bluesman »

Ok... was thinking of this section from beginning, but because I asked if it was possible to implement code/settings to WWB for having this result, I thought it was correct. But when understanding it's not... Gracias for moving the thread.

And Gracias Crispy… the code works almost perfect :D Just a site were I implemented a Live Chat Support (php) that stop to work when implementing that code? The Live Chat script shall work with https during to information. Have written to the author of the script...
"Make My Day"

See my Website
User avatar
crispy68
 
 
Posts: 2737
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:43 am
Location: Acworth, GA
Contact:

Re: How implement HTTPS on WWB webpage

Post by crispy68 »

Excellent! More than likely there is something in the php script you need to change so it recognizes https over http. This is true for the Phpjabber scripts. There is a file you have to change for those to work as well.
User avatar
Bluesman
 
 
Posts: 1116
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 5:43 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: How implement HTTPS on WWB webpage

Post by Bluesman »

crispy68 wrote: Fri Oct 12, 2018 12:09 pm Excellent! More than likely there is something in the php script you need to change so it recognizes https over http. This is true for the Phpjabber scripts. There is a file you have to change for those to work as well.
Yes crispy… you have to be some careful when you have 3rd party scripts implemented. Good to check up before changing :D
Have a nice weekend
"Make My Day"

See my Website
Post Reply