Responsive text isn't

Questions related to the Responsive Web Design tools of WYSIWYG Web Builder.
Forum rules
PLEASE READ THE FORUM RULES BEFORE YOU POST:
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=1901

MUST READ:
http://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/respon ... esign.html
Please read this first before posting any questions! Also check out the example project to get an idea how the RWD concept works.

Responsive Web Design FAQ:
http://wysiwygwebbuilder.com/forum/view ... 10&t=63817
Post Reply
alan_sh
 
 
Posts: 470
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2019 5:50 pm

Responsive text isn't

Post by alan_sh » Wed Apr 03, 2019 9:08 pm

I have a web site where one page will not go 'responsive' when I reduce the size. The page is http://pennine2020.penninescouts.org.uk/Join-Us.html and it's the text which stays much wider than the screen. I've tried it on a tablet (iPad), my phone (Android) and reducing the size of my desktop browser. It's the same on all of them.

What am I doing wrong?

WBS file is https://www.dropbox.com/s/g4v6gvngpmpaz ... 0.wbs?dl=0

Thanks

Alan

User avatar
crispy68
 
 
Posts: 563
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:43 am
Location: Acworth, GA
Contact:

Re: Responsive text isn't

Post by crispy68 » Wed Apr 03, 2019 10:24 pm

Looks like at one point you chose to 'use <div> for each line' of text which is causing it to generate a div for each line of text with a fixed width. You can see what i'm talking about if you right click on your text object, choose 'object HTML' and view the code. You will see line after line of <div>'s for your text with fixed widths.

My recommendation is to create a new text object, insert all your text first (don't format anything yet) and then go back in and highlight the text you want to change colors of, bold, etc.

When I recreated your text from scratch doing this, it works.

alan_sh
 
 
Posts: 470
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2019 5:50 pm

Re: Responsive text isn't

Post by alan_sh » Thu Apr 04, 2019 5:24 am

Thanks. That is weird because I didn't deliberately do that - it must have been how it got pasted in.

Alan

alan_sh
 
 
Posts: 470
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2019 5:50 pm

Re: Responsive text isn't

Post by alan_sh » Thu Apr 04, 2019 5:53 am

Well, it seems that as soon as you do any formatting, the HLML is changed to <div> for each line.

So how are you supposed to format the text?

Alan

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 17605
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Responsive text isn't

Post by Pablo » Thu Apr 04, 2019 6:28 am

Well, it seems that as soon as you do any formatting, the HLML is changed to <div> for each line.
The option will not be selected automatically. Please make sure that none of the 'deprecated' options has been selected.
Also, do not copy/paste text directly form Word because it may have incorrect formatting.

alan_sh
 
 
Posts: 470
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2019 5:50 pm

Re: Responsive text isn't

Post by alan_sh » Thu Apr 04, 2019 6:54 am

Pablo,

I have no idea what deprecated options are, so I assume I have never set them. But I will check the options.

The text, when I first paste it in appears on 1 line in the html view. As soon as I format any bit of it (such as change the colour or size of a line), all the text is changed to <Div>.

I don't copy from word, it's a cut and paste from text in W**P**s X8 (my old web program).

Thanks for listening

Alan

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 17605
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Responsive text isn't

Post by Pablo » Thu Apr 04, 2019 7:53 am

Image

Please do not use formatted text from another program.

alan_sh
 
 
Posts: 470
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2019 5:50 pm

Re: Responsive text isn't

Post by alan_sh » Thu Apr 04, 2019 10:42 am

Ah, it's beginning to make sense now.

The 'advanced' is set to "default", so that's OK.

But, when I import the text I copied into Word, it comes up formatted as I would expect, not plain text, even though when I import it into WYSIWYG, it appears to be plain text - but it obviously isn't.

If I push the text into Notepad and select that before I import it, then it still looks as ordinary text, the difference being that I can now change styles and it doesn't reset everything to <div>.

I guess that's the way I go from now on.

thanks

Alan

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 17605
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Responsive text isn't

Post by Pablo » Thu Apr 04, 2019 11:23 am

You can also hold down the 'SHIFT' key while pasting text to remove the formatting.

alan_sh
 
 
Posts: 470
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2019 5:50 pm

Re: Responsive text isn't

Post by alan_sh » Thu Apr 04, 2019 1:52 pm

Ah thanks - a good tip

Alan

Post Reply