Website Looks fine when previewing, but not when live.

All WYSIWYG Web Builder support issues that are not covered in the forums below.
Forum rules
PLEASE READ THE FORUM RULES BEFORE YOU POST:
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=1901

MUST READ:
http://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/getting_started.html
WYSIWYG Web Builder FAQ
WYSI RICH
 
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:15 pm

Website Looks fine when previewing, but not when live.

Post by WYSI RICH » Fri Jun 26, 2020 4:38 pm

Hi Folks,

Just finished my website, and everything looks good when I preview, but when I upload and make the site live, there is visible code at the top of every page (except for the 'contact us' page)

The website is: www.vintagevolksweddings.co.uk

I'll leave the site live for as long as possible, before changing it back to the old one...

Thanks in advance for any help!

Rich

WYSI RICH
 
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:15 pm

Re: Website Looks fine when previewing, but not when live.

Post by WYSI RICH » Fri Jun 26, 2020 4:42 pm

Oh dear - Now I'm getting a message saying "Your connection isn't secure. The owner of the website has configured their website incorrectly.

Goodness knows what I'm doing wrong now!

User avatar
crispy68
 
 
Posts: 1271
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:43 am
Location: Acworth, GA
Contact:

Re: Website Looks fine when previewing, but not when live.

Post by crispy68 » Fri Jun 26, 2020 4:43 pm

Typically it means 1 of 2 things:

1. You have a form on your page. In that case, the page extension should be set to .php rather than .html
2. You have manually added some code for something and there is an error in the code breaking the page which shows up.

WYSI RICH
 
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:15 pm

Re: Website Looks fine when previewing, but not when live.

Post by WYSI RICH » Fri Jun 26, 2020 4:49 pm

HI crispy68,

The contact form is set to .php

I wouldn't dare add any code anywhere!

Not sure where I'm going wrong...

User avatar
crispy68
 
 
Posts: 1271
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:43 am
Location: Acworth, GA
Contact:

Re: Website Looks fine when previewing, but not when live.

Post by crispy68 » Fri Jun 26, 2020 5:04 pm

Not the form but is the page extension set to .php? It looks like they are set to .html. You can change this in the page properties.

On the 'George' page, the url in the address bar is this:

http://www.vintagevolksweddings.co.uk/george.html

and it should be

http://www.vintagevolksweddings.co.uk/george.php

by the way, I dig the site and concept. :)

WYSI RICH
 
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:15 pm

Re: Website Looks fine when previewing, but not when live.

Post by WYSI RICH » Fri Jun 26, 2020 8:03 pm

Ahhh, so all the pages have to be set to .php?!

I've only set the contact/form page to this.

I'll change all the other pages to .php and see if that works.
Thanks for this!

Also, thank you for the feedback on the site! :D
As you can imagine, the wedding industry has been hit hard with covid19, so I've kept myself busy trying to rebuild a RWD version

WYSI RICH
 
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:15 pm

Re: Website Looks fine when previewing, but not when live.

Post by WYSI RICH » Sat Jun 27, 2020 5:27 pm

Update:

I changed the other pages to .php but they still have the strange code at the top.

I've reverted back to the old website for now.

I'll try unpicking some bits on each page and see how I get on...

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 22600
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Website Looks fine when previewing, but not when live.

Post by Pablo » Sat Jun 27, 2020 5:30 pm

Usually this indicates that the server does not support PHP or there is a syntax error somewhere on the page.

WYSI RICH
 
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:15 pm

Re: Website Looks fine when previewing, but not when live.

Post by WYSI RICH » Sat Jun 27, 2020 8:37 pm

Pablo wrote:
Sat Jun 27, 2020 5:30 pm
Usually this indicates that the server does not support PHP or there is a syntax error somewhere on the page.
Thank Pablo,

The previous website worked with PHP, so I know that's not the problem.

Might be a syntax error then... although I have no clue what that means :lol:

User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 22600
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Website Looks fine when previewing, but not when live.

Post by Pablo » Sat Jun 27, 2020 9:01 pm

The software has thousands of options and millions of possible combinations so to be able to help you, I need to know more details about what you have done.

Related FAQ:
http://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/forum/ ... 10&t=82134

WYSI RICH
 
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:15 pm

Re: Website Looks fine when previewing, but not when live.

Post by WYSI RICH » Sun Jun 28, 2020 12:03 am

Hi Pablo,

Here is a link to the .wbs file.
(Hope I've done this correctly.)

https://1drv.ms/u/s!AtITHoM8v8pmgYUsqny7vmCOpTqd9w

The problem I have is visible code at the top of every page except for the 'contact' page
Website is here: vintagevolksweddings.co.uk

Thanks,

Rich

WYSI RICH
 
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:15 pm

Re: Website Looks fine when previewing, but not when live.

Post by WYSI RICH » Sun Jun 28, 2020 12:17 am

Update:

On a PC/Laptop, the site appears okay at first, but clicking on any page (apart from contact) makes the visible code appear at the top of the page (just under the slim header strip.

On a mobile device, there is just a large black area under the header strip.

Thanks again,

Rich

User avatar
crispy68
 
 
Posts: 1271
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:43 am
Location: Acworth, GA
Contact:

Re: Website Looks fine when previewing, but not when live.

Post by crispy68 » Sun Jun 28, 2020 2:19 am

I downloaded your project. None of your pages have the page extension set to .php. I know you mentioned you changed it and it didnt help; however, based on my testing that solved the issue.

Here is a link to your home page with simply changing the page extension to .php.

https://www.wizbangwebdesign.com/demo/vw/

As you can see there is no code at the top of the page. If published as .html the code will appear due to the form.

Also, there are many errors (28 alone on the index page), an overuse of grids (you have some in default and then hidden in breakpoints and vice versa...not sure why) and many of your images are not named correctly (meaning your images contain spaces or odd characters and should not). Please make sure to address all of these issues as these will cause other problems later.

Also, your default view is 970px but you have a 850px breakpoint. Why? That is only 120px difference and doesnt make a lot of sense. Cleaning a lot of this up will help make the overall code of the site better.

User avatar
BaconFries
 
 
Posts: 5140
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:32 pm

Re: Website Looks fine when previewing, but not when live.

Post by BaconFries » Sun Jun 28, 2020 3:40 am

Although I have hung up my keyboard and mouse for now after reading this I decided to answer. The code you are seeing belongs to a form and that is the one you have used on the contact page. I believe you may have simply cloned / copied and pasted this page for all pages or used a Master or embedded page to do so.

My thinking behind this is because on each page you have a Enquire now / Lets Talk! section that links to the contact page and it is present on each page showing the code. I would check this and all the other issues crispy has mentioned and hopefully this will fix this for you.

.

WYSI RICH
 
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:15 pm

Re: Website Looks fine when previewing, but not when live.

Post by WYSI RICH » Wed Jul 01, 2020 9:46 am

Hi crispy68,

You were right! I changed all the pages to .php and this time it worked!

I added a 970 break point as I couldn't get one of the images to set right on a page. An the extra break point seemed to solve it.
I've since changed the image, and got ride of the 970 break point.

Working my way through the errors now, by changing the image names, and also the hidden grids. That'll keep me busy for a while!

Thanks so much for your help with this. You've been brilliant!

:-)

Post Reply