Page 1 of 1

layer vs grid

Posted: Fri Apr 16, 2021 6:05 pm
by Lasa
Using layers seems to be to be more user friendly, adaptable if everything isn't linear, (simply add breakpoint and rearrange)... while grid works great if linear on a row... no breakpoint issues.
Am I seeing it right?
Lasa

Re: layer vs grid

Posted: Sat Apr 17, 2021 6:15 am
by Pablo
For fixed/absolute layouts, you can use layers. To adapt the layout for smaller screens you will have to add breakpoints and rearrange the layout manually.
For flexible layouts, you can use layout grids. In most cases, the layout will be automatically adapted for smaller screens.

Related tutorial:
https://wysiwygwebbuilder.com/layout_modes.html

Re: layer vs grid

Posted: Sat Apr 17, 2021 4:56 pm
by Lasa
Thanks Pablo the software is amazing! Too bad this user isn't.
I've made a simple site with layers, have layer properties set as follows:
mode: floating layer
Float mode: default
unchecked both relative horz and vertical
set the properties of the page itself to center horizontally.
When i preview its not centered?
I made a new project same result?

Cheers,
Lasa

Even though I indicate center this is what is being previewed:
<div id="Layer1" style="position:relative;text-align:left;width:969px;height:200px;float:left;display:inline-block;z-index:2;">
<div id="wb_IconFont1" style="position:absolute;left:353px;top:31px;width:332px;height:139px;text-align:center;z-index:0;">
<div id="IconFont1"><i class="fa fa-home"></i></div></div>
</div>
<div id="Layer2" style="position:relative;text-align:left;width:969px;height:200px;float:left;display:inline-block;z-index:3;">
<div id="wb_IconFont2" style="position:absolute;left:353px;top:31px;width:332px;height:139px;text-align:center;z-index:1;">
<div id="IconFont2"><i class="fa fa-home"></i></div></div>

Re: layer vs grid

Posted: Sat Apr 17, 2021 5:12 pm
by Pablo
A floating layer is full width so center it will not make any difference.
If you want to center content of the layer the set the alignment in the layer itself.

Also, why are you using a floating layer?

Re: layer vs grid

Posted: Sat Apr 17, 2021 6:19 pm
by Lasa
My idea was to be able to resize the floating layer in the different breakpoint and have the layers below simply push down or up, keeping the stacked layers, stacked and separate, not piling on each other.... giving me the freedom of placing objects anywhere in the layer but stacking of float layers

Apparently my logic is faulted... opps

So a I guess the float layer gets used with grid layers or centered manually.
Lasa

Re: layer vs grid

Posted: Sat Apr 17, 2021 7:39 pm
by Lasa
With what you mentioned in mind... I tried the following parameters:
Mode: Floating layer
Floating mode: default
Relative horizontal sizing checked
alignment: center
position Children: absolute

It seems to do what I want.. if I resize the layer down to fit a new object, all the layers below move down as well.
Lasa
Is there a way to lock layer content so you don't pull an object out by mistake or by resizing before moving content?
What would be nice is to have a light layer accent (without adding a outline) to show the edge of the layer while resizing content.

Re: layer vs grid

Posted: Sun Apr 18, 2021 6:54 am
by Pablo
You can lock elements via the 'Arrange' menu.

Re: layer vs grid

Posted: Sun Apr 18, 2021 11:15 am
by Lasa
That's what I'm looking for!
Thank you
Lasa