*** SOLVED *** Simple code mess up my website

This section is for posting questions which are not directly related to WYSIWYG Web Builder.
Examples of off topics: web server configuration, hosting, programming related questions, third party scripts.

Note that these questions will generally not be answered by the administrators of this forum.
Post Reply
Ladee
 
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2021 10:08 am

*** SOLVED *** Simple code mess up my website

Post by Ladee »

Hi there,

I bought this program from Codecanyon to use for popups (green popups standalone).

The possibilities are endless with this program, but as soon as I place the JS script in the "above closing tag," my website goes potty.[*]

Why is this code not working in webbuilder?
<script id="lepopup-remote" src="https://pop.website.nl/content/plugins/ ... s?ver=7.32" data-handler="https://pop.website.nl/ajax.php"></script>
User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 16836
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Simple code mess up my website

Post by Pablo »

It's not a matter of whether the code works in WWB. The code is processed by the browser. If the code works elsewhere then it will also work in WWB.
The software will publish the code "AS IS".

Here are possible reasons why the code may not work:
- the code is incorrect
- the code is incomplete
- the code was added to the wrong section of the page.
- the code conflicts other code on the page.

If you need further assistance then please include the URL of the page so I can try to help you.
User avatar
crispy68
 
 
Posts: 1804
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:43 am
Location: Acworth, GA
Contact:

Re: Simple code mess up my website

Post by crispy68 »

do you have a link to the page it is not working on?
Ladee
 
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2021 10:08 am

Re: Simple code mess up my website

Post by Ladee »

https://www.goedkopewindowslicentie.nl/

As you can see the font awesome icons in the right corner and in the footer are not shown correctly.

When you click the test button for the popover (top left)then at the bottom of the page it shows an error from green popups under the footer.

Also, the close icon on the sticky layer in the left bottom corner is not visible.

Thnx :-)
User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 16836
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Simple code mess up my website

Post by Pablo »

I do not see the mentioned problems.

However, there is a lot of code and features on the page (cookiebar, carousel ,scroll animations, scrollspy, google tamanager etc)
I also see references to 'Tawk'.
So, I suggest first try it on an empty page without all the extra script and features.
Then add back the features one by one, to see if one of them causes a conflict.

Also, check out the error console of your browser, it may give you a clue why it's not working.
Ladee
 
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2021 10:08 am

Re: Simple code mess up my website

Post by Ladee »

Check out the pictures below to see before and after I stripped down the website.

As you can see the website has no more features and added codes, but the problem is still there.

I left the website stripped of all features and codes so you guys can check it yourself: https://www.goedkopewindowslicentie.nl/

As for mistakes, when I inspect the elements in the browser I can only see an error for jquery 3.6.0, but I tried other earlier versions and the problem is still there.

Image

Image

Image
User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 16836
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Simple code mess up my website

Post by Pablo »

The error seems to be related to the AJAX page.
Are you sure the 'data-handler' is ok?

Does it work on a HTML page that was not created with WWB?
Ladee
 
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2021 10:08 am

Re: Simple code mess up my website

Post by Ladee »

Hi Pablo,

I created a simple page with Elementor, and I encountered the same problem.

I opened a ticket at Envato to see if they can resolve the problem.

Many thanks for your help.
Ladee
 
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2021 10:08 am

Re: Simple code mess up my website

Post by Ladee »

Okay, basically it comes to this, WWB uses Fontawesome 4 and the standalone version of Green popups uses Fontawesome 5. When I turn off font-awesome in green popups that problem is no more there.

That makes me wonder, when is WWB going to upgrade from version 4 to 5?
User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 16836
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Simple code mess up my website

Post by Pablo »

Due to license restrictions it is not allowed to distribute newer versions of FontAwesome with the software.
But you can install FontAwesome 5 as an add-on
https://www.wysiwygwebbuilder.com/free_extras.html
Ladee
 
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2021 10:08 am

Re: Simple code mess up my website

Post by Ladee »

Thanks, Pablo,

Everything is working fine now :-)
Post Reply