auto select address bar on accessing particular website

This section is for posting questions which are not directly related to WYSIWYG Web Builder.
Examples of off topics: web server configuration, hosting, programming related questions, third party scripts.

Note that these questions will generally not be answered by the administrators of this forum.
Post Reply
fredphoesh
 
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 7:00 pm

auto select address bar on accessing particular website

Post by fredphoesh »

Hi all,
I have a custom landing page for my New Tab on Chrome... but I very often simply want to do a search, so have to press Alt-D or click in the address bar to then type.

Is there a way to have the address bar automatically selected when I go to that url (https://videoblurb.com/mp/startpage/)

I'd love to add that ability.

Thanks,
Mark.
Using 18.0.1
Windows 11 i7, 24gb RAM
wwonderfull
 
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2020 8:27 am

Re: auto select address bar on accessing particular website

Post by wwonderfull »

I think as your saying about the browsers address bar then there is nothing which the software can do for you other than that you have to do it using the shortcut which the browser has for example in chrome browser you can use

Jump to the address bar Ctrl + l or Alt + d or F6
Search from anywhere on the page Ctrl + k or Ctrl + e

In that way the browser can focus on the address bar just by using keyboard shortcut but for a website it is more of an internal thing. Maybe you can add a search bar inside your webpage in that way you can AUTOMATICALLY focus on the search bar which is in your website and not just on the browsers address bar. So the solution is put a search bar inside the webpage.
fredphoesh
 
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 7:00 pm

Re: auto select address bar on accessing particular website

Post by fredphoesh »

Hi Wwonderful,

Thanks for the response!
WRT the search bar on my custom page, I managed to add it, but don't know how to get the cursor into the search box (ready to type) by default when the page opens...

I was hoping that something was possible, an auto-generation of the Alt-D command or something. I know it is "possible" as I have a SUPERB chrome addon called AutoControl which allows me to use mouse gestures to create tabs, switch them, close them etc... and I can customise it such that AFTER it creates a new tab, it enters Alt-D so the address bar is pre-selected. This works very well, but I also want the regular + button to add a tab to do the same thing... not within chrome's abilities, but I was hoping some script or something on that new tab page would be able to Generate Alt-D just as AutoControl does.

Image
Using 18.0.1
Windows 11 i7, 24gb RAM
wwonderfull
 
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2020 8:27 am

Re: auto select address bar on accessing particular website

Post by wwonderfull »

if you used editbox in WYSIWYG Web Builder then you can use autofocus on which will automatically focus the search bar

Image

And if you did it using any custom code then in the html of the input you have to add autofocus

for example:

Code: Select all

 <input type="text" id="Editbox1" name="Editbox1" autofocus>
fredphoesh
 
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 7:00 pm

Re: auto select address bar on accessing particular website

Post by fredphoesh »

Hi again and thanks again...

I added the search using Google's https://programmablesearchengine.google.com/ and then pasted the code it provided into a basic HTML box in WYSIWYG. I followed instructions on a YT video as I really don't know much about code...

<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
<head>
<title>Search Plus</title>
<script async src="https://cse.google.com/cse.js?cx=0571cf ... cript><div class="gcse-searchbox-only"></div>
</head>
<body>
</body>
</html>

I tried adding that same code in Editbox, but it's not clear how I would paste the code there... tried adding:

<input type="text" id="Html1" name="Html1" autofocus> but that resulted in a second text entry box on the page, not activate the current Html1 box search field...

A bit baffled...
Using 18.0.1
Windows 11 i7, 24gb RAM
wwonderfull
 
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2020 8:27 am

Re: auto select address bar on accessing particular website

Post by wwonderfull »

I think I need your project file or might need to send you an email with my own demo file. I hope you can come Contact using our site. As it is more of a custom code thing so needs more dedication on the work.
fredphoesh
 
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 7:00 pm

Re: auto select address bar on accessing particular website

Post by fredphoesh »

Hi @wwonderfull

Thanks so much! Here is my project file

https://videoblurb.com/mp/startpage/startpage.wbs

... the search is for the index page only...

👍🏽👍🏽👍🏽
Using 18.0.1
Windows 11 i7, 24gb RAM
wwonderfull
 
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2020 8:27 am

Re: auto select address bar on accessing particular website

Post by wwonderfull »

As I see your project it looks not to be that much mobile responsive has scaling issues. The other thing is You did not use the WWB editbox but instead used the custom code input.

I think I can make it a master piece though it would cost me some time. But the project would have looked good on small mobile devices thats for sure. But I will try to fix the input focus issue only for now.
wwonderfull
 
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2020 8:27 am

Re: auto select address bar on accessing particular website

Post by wwonderfull »

Here is your project with Google search and autofocus!

https://filebin.net/w3noc6ph5sc9h2je
fredphoesh
 
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 7:00 pm

Re: auto select address bar on accessing particular website

Post by fredphoesh »

wwonderfull wrote: Fri Oct 07, 2022 4:35 am Here is your project with Google search and autofocus!
https://filebin.net/w3noc6ph5sc9h2je
Thanks fella, that is very kind of you...
I may have to give up on this though because there is another problem with doing it this way...
Image
Damn!
Thanks anyway...
Using 18.0.1
Windows 11 i7, 24gb RAM
wwonderfull
 
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2020 8:27 am

Re: auto select address bar on accessing particular website

Post by wwonderfull »

I may have to give up on this though because there is another problem with doing it this way...
There is a lot of solution for this but trying simple.
It's an easy solution as Google runs secure it does not operate on insecure SSL so it uses HTTPS instead of HTTP
Although I can use it even with http i don't know what went wrong for you but still it now uses https
I have updated the code for you again download the project I am sure it will be fine :)

https://filebin.net/b25xo57q1yn5g0if
Last edited by wwonderfull on Fri Oct 07, 2022 4:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
fredphoesh
 
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 7:00 pm

Re: auto select address bar on accessing particular website

Post by fredphoesh »

wwonderfull wrote: Fri Oct 07, 2022 4:19 pm It's an easy solution as Google runs secure it does not operate on insecure SSL so it uses HTTPS instead of HTTP
YESSSSSSSS that works fantastically, thanks so much! That's brilliant. I reckon I will save that as a block for future use... would be good if WYSIWYG had it as a drag and drop thing... for non-coders like myself.

👍🏽👍🏽👍🏽👍🏽👍🏽
Using 18.0.1
Windows 11 i7, 24gb RAM
wwonderfull
 
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2020 8:27 am

Re: auto select address bar on accessing particular website

Post by wwonderfull »

Your welcome :wink:
User avatar
jerryco
 
 
Posts: 826
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 2:42 pm
Location: Purmerend, Holland

Re: auto select address bar on accessing particular website

Post by jerryco »

A lot of kudos for all forum members who are helping out a lot!
// Love is the acceptance of nothing / Account age is no guarantee of efficiency ;-) ->

Above, Beyond, and @wwonderfull! <- Genuinely helps you with a powered up site that counts! Four Times Excellence!
fredphoesh
 
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 7:00 pm

Re: auto select address bar on accessing particular website

Post by fredphoesh »

wwonderfull wrote: Fri Oct 07, 2022 4:27 pm Your welcome :wink:
:D :D :D
Using 18.0.1
Windows 11 i7, 24gb RAM
Post Reply